About Us

If we do our job right, nobody will notice.

Every once in a while though, someone does.

While no amount of accolades can equal the rewards of protecting and restoring natural systems, enhancing biodiversity, and strengthening community resilience, we are truly honored when our work is recognized.

About Us — Recognition

Works Recognized

Wissahickon Creek Headwaters Restoration

Wissahickon Trails, Upper Gwynedd Township, PECO, Merck, William Penn Foundation, National Fish and Wildlife Foundation, Aquatic Resources Restoration Company

Davis Branch Stream Restoration

Howard County Stormwater Division, Howard County Rec & Parks, Howard County Conservancy, Ecotone, AB Consulting

Bacon Ridge Branch Stream Restoration at Elks Camp Barrett

Maryland DOT State Highway Administration, GreenVest, LLC, Environmental Quality Resources, Coastal Resources

Chattahoochee RiverLands

SCAPE, Gresham Smith, New South Associates, Edwards-Pittman, Dr. Na'taki Osborne Jelks, Dr. Richard Milligan

2021 — Honor Award, American Society for Landscape Architects New York Chapter

2020 — Outstanding Planning Document, Georgia Chapter of the American Planning Association

2020 — Clean 13 Award, Georgia Water Coalition
Denton Creek Park Master Plan

TJB Partners, Verdunity

2019 — Honor Award for Planning & Analysis, Texas ASLA

Sandy River Engineered Log Jams

Wolf Water Resources, Portland Water Bureau, Metro, Oregon Parks and Recreation Department

Galveston Island State Park Master Plan

Studio Outside, Overland Partners, PRD Group, and CP&Y

Baton Rouge Lakes Master Plan

SWA Group and Jeffrey Carbo Landscape Architects for the Baton Rouge Area Foundation

Phase 3 Sauvie Island Restoration–North Management Unit

Columbia River Estuary Study Taskforce, ODFW, Bonneville Power Administration, Environmental Science Associates, PC Trask & Associates, and Aquatic Contracting

Stono River County Park Master Plan

Charleston County Parks and Recreation Commission and Stantec, Inc.

Mirror Lake Remediation and Restoration

Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, University of Maryland Baltimore County Dept. of Chemical, Biochemical, and Environmental Engineering, Brightfields

Green Streets and Blue Alleys: Stormwater Management

Blue Water Baltimore, Baltimore City Department of Public Works & Transportation, Center for Watershed Protection, Butchers Hill & Patterson Park Neighborhood Associations, National Fish and Wildlife Foundation, Stormcrete, EP Henry

Keya Wakpala (Turtle Creek Development) Master Plan, Phase I Plan, and Engineering Assessment

Blue Star Studio, Sustainable Nations, LeBeau Development, Dream Design International, Development Center for Appropriate Technology, Minnesota Housing Partnership, PAE Consulting Engineers, Skyline Engineering, Rosebud Economic Development Corporation

2014 — SEED Award for Excellence in Public Interest Design, Social Economic Environmental Design Network

The College of Charleston at Stono Preserve

Ayers Saint Gross Architects and Planners, GEL Engineering & Environmental, LLC, Aiken Cost Consultants, Inc., DWG Engineering, ADC Engineering

RiverBend Commerce Park Site Development Plan

Buffalo Urban Development Corporation & Sasaki Associates

2013 — Best Practice Award, Western New York section of the American Planning Association

2013 — Planning Excellence Award for Best Practice, New York Upstate section of the American Planning Association

Hudson High School/Tinkers Creek Stream Restoration Design-Build

City of Hudson, Cuyahoga County Board of Health, Ohio EPA, Tinkers Creek Watershed Partners, Summit County SWCD, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, and Cuyahoga River Remedial Action Plan

2013 — John F. Seiberling Award for Regional Cooperation and Resourceful Innovation, Cuyahoga Valley Regional Council of Governments

Washington Avenue Green Design-Build

2013 — Merit Award, Potomac and Maryland ASLA

Lizard Hill Sand Mine Reclamation & Bishopville Pond Restoration

2012 — Exemplary Ecosystem Initiative, FHWA

Flewellen Creek Stream Restoration

SWA Group and Brown & Gay Engineers

2013 — Restoration Award, Houston-Galveston Area Council Parks and Natural Areas

2012 — Merit Award for Residential Design Constructed, Texas ASLA

2012 — Engineering Excellence Silver Award for Water Resources, Texas ACEC

Omega Center for Sustainable Living Wastewater Treatment System

BNIM and John Todd Ecological Design

2011 — Gold Award, Sustainable Category, International Interior Design Association

2010 — LEED NC: certified Platinum, United States Green Building Council

2010 — Living Building Challenge, Cascadia Region Green Building Council

2010 — Top Ten Green Projects, American Institute of Architects

2010 — Merit Award, American Institute of Architects: Kansas

2009 — Merit Award, American Institute of Architects: Central States Region

Tempe Transit Center: Urban Water Reuse

OTAK and Architekton

2010 — Honor Award, American Institute of Architects: Arizona

2010 — Merit Award, American Institute of Architects: Western Mountain Region

2009 — National Smart Growth Achievement Award, U.S. EPA

2009 — Crescordia Award-Valley Forward Environmental Excellence —Urban Plaza, Arizona Forward

2009 — Salt River Project Energy Award, Award American Institute of Architects: Arizona

2009 — Best Sustainable Project, Arizona Real Estate Development Awards

2009 — Crescordia Award, Site Development and Landscape-Industrial and Public Works, Arizona Forward

2009 — Kemper Goodwin Collaboration, American Institute of Architects: Arizona

2009 — SRP Sustainability Award, American Institute of Architects: Arizona

2009 — Merit Award in Built Category, American Institute of Architects

Floyds Fork Greenway Master Plan

Wallace Roberts & Todd

2010 — Designing the Parks Merit Award in Master Planning, National Park Service

Flight 93 National Memorial Phase 1B Revegetation

Paul Murdoch Architects and Nelson Byrd Woltz Landscape Architects

2010 — Designing the Parks Merit Award in Master Planning, National Park Service

Woodland Park Zoo On-Site Water Treatment and Reuse System

Studio Hansen Roberts

2010 — Design Excellence Award, Seattle Design Commission

2009 — Exhibit Achievement Award, Association of Zoos & Aquariums

Jefferson Memorial Forest Master Plan

Jones & Jones Architects and Landscape Architects

2009 — Merit Award for Design, Kentucky ASLA

Stream Daylighting at the Dell

Nelson Byrd Woltz Landscape Architecture & VMDO Architects

2009 — Honor Award for Design, American Society of Landscape Architects

2007 — Honor Award for Design, Virginia ASLA

2006 — Inform Award of Honor, Virginia AIA

2004 — Merit Award for Design, Maryland ASLA

Bronx Zoo Master Plan

Ayers Saint Gross Architect and Planners, and Michael Vergason Landscape Architects

2004 — Design Award Winner, Baltimore AIA

Sidwell Friends Middle School Natural Wastewater and Stormwater Treatment Reuse System

Kieran Timberlake Associates and Andropogon Associates

2007 — Top Ten Green Projects, American Institute of Architects

See More of Our Work